Analytics Legal analytics

29
November

Currency controls: the new rules for dealing with banks

Victor Petrov, Head of Litigation practice

Ilya Shengeliya, Project manager Southern directorate

In November 2017, two regulatory acts were published that made significant adjustments to the mechanisms for banks to control hard currency. The first one is Guideline Manual No. 181-И, issued by the Bank of Russia (the Central Bank), that must be followed starting January 1st, 2018 to record and furnish reporting on operations with hard currency[1] (hereinafter Manual No. 181-И). The Manual is supposed to loosen currency controls by decreasing the burden borne by residents. The second act has the opposite effect, and is geared toward tightening currency controls. This is Federal Law No. 325-FZ, which, when it enters into force on May 14th, 2018, will make it easier for banks to respond to any violations of currency law, and draws distinctions between the types of administrative liability in this area[2].    

The main changes in reporting

The most noticeable new change is that starting on January 1st, 2018 there will be no need to file a currency transaction report form. Instead of that, banks will register contracts. However, in essence, this is just a cosmetic change. Currency controls will not disappear, and it is just that the reporting documentation will be recorded differently - the bank, instead of the resident, will register the information needed for recordkeeping. 

In order to do this, it is enough to present a contract (or an extract from one) and some other information necessary to register the statements for internal control to the bank. Export contracts can be registered solely on the basis of information that is contained in them, even though later on the document itself has to be provided to the bank.   

Starting in 2018, it will also be unnecessary to record a currency transaction report form and give it to the bank. The letter of verification used to confirm documents that is called for under existing regulations will be used as a unified form for recording and reporting purposes – the only thing that will change is its format.

A novelty that is more significant and expected is raising the hard-currency liability's threshold over which a contract must be registered. The threshold will only be raised for export transactions, and will be 6 million rubles – that is the equivalent of approximately double what the current threshold is now, the one that needs to be reached before recording a currency transaction report form becomes mandatory (the equivalent of 50,000 USD).

For contract involving imports and credit agreements, the threshold will remain more or less the same – three million rubles, which is almost 50,000 USD at the current exchange rate.

The changes will also affect transactions where currency control will be accomplished in accordance with simplified procedures, without the necessity to provide documents to the bank that have to do with performing hard-currency operations. According to Manual No. 181-И, agreements between residents and non-residents will be categorized this way if the price of the liability under them does not exceed 200,000 rubles, which is three times more than the current threshold of 1,000 USD at the current exchange rate. For these kinds of transactions, when transferring foreign currency to the resident's transit currency account, or deducting foreign currency from the settlement account, just providing the bank with information about the code for the type of operation will be sufficient.

Positive sides

Manual No. 181-И will decrease the kinds of grounds that can be used to impose administrative penalties on a resident. Since starting on January 1st, 2018 banks will start the recordkeeping procedures, a resident just needs to furnish all the necessary documents on time. The negative consequences linked to mistakes that are overlooked when the currency transaction report form is recorded will no longer arise.

The raise in the threshold for liability under transactions that will be overseen in accordance with simplified procedures will allow saving time and money across a much wider range of operations than is now possible.

In addition, it will be possible to go through the official procedures that are associated with registering the transaction more swiftly. According to current rules, the bank has three days to accept the transaction report form for processing and register it. According to Manual No. 181-И, the bank is mandated to register the transaction no later than on the work day following the day when the resident provides the documents necessary to do this.

All of this should enhance the speed with which residents can perform commercial activities that involve other countries.

The consequences for violations

Manual No. 181-И does not spell out the grounds that the bank can use to refuse to register a contract. If a resident provides all of the necessary documents, the bank is obligated to register the transaction and issue statements for internal control.

This does not mean that the banks will lose their ability to oppose unlawful hard-currency operations. At present, if the resident furnishes truthful documents, the bank can refuse to perform the hard-currency operation only if suspicion arises that the operation is being done to legalize criminal funds or finance terrorism[3].

However, on May 14th, 2018 the Federal Law 325-FZ will empower banks to block a hard-currency operation if it violates the provisions in currency regulatory acts. Also, the bank can reject a hard-currency operation if it is given documents that do not comply with legislative requirements.

As one of those requirements, Federal Law 325-FZ establishes that agreements signed as part of transnational trade between a resident and a non-resident must, stating May 14th, 2018 specify the time frames for the parties to fulfill their responsibilities. Non-compliance with this requirement will be considered testimony that the transnational transaction is not formalized[4].

Besides that, Federal Law 325-FZ makes amendments to the Russian Federation Code of Administrative Offenses that will permit imposing administrative liability on company officials for illegal hard-currency operations or violations in the procedures for repatriating funds. The amount of the administrative penalty for them will be from 20,000 to 30,000 rubles. A repeat violation of the requirements for hard currency will result in disqualification for the company official[5].

Transitional period

Currency transaction report forms that clients do not manage to close out before January 1st, 2018 will automatically close, even if the bank does not mark off that it was closed, and the relevant contracts will be registered in accordance with Manual No. 181-И.

The same will happen with a contract where the bank does not manage to make up its mind by January 1st, 2018 whether to issue a currency transaction report form: the contract will be registered under the new rules on the basis of documents that have already been received, and the resident will not have to go to the bank again.

Letters of verification concerning confirmation documents and any materials attached to them which the bank fails to check until January 1st, 2018 will not be given back if it turns out that they suffice for the bank to accept them in accordance with the new laws. 

This means that starting on January 1st, 2018 Manual No. 181-И will be applied to all transactions and hard-currency operations.  


[1] Guideline Manual No. 181-И, issued by the Bank of Russia on August 16, 2017 “On the Procedure for the Presentation of Supporting Documents and Information by Residents and Non-Residents to Authorized Banks When Carrying Out Currency Operations, and Concerning the Unified Forms for the Recording and Reporting of Currency Operations and the Procedure and Time Limits for Submitting Them” // “Bank of Russia Bulletin”, No. 96-97, dated November 16, 2017.

[2] Federal Law No. 325-FZ “Concerning the Introduction of Amendments to Articles 19 and 23 of Federal Law “On Currency Regulation and Currency Control” and Code Of Administrative Offences Of The Russian Federation” dated November 14, 2017 (Law No. 325-FZ).

[3] See  Section 5, Article 23 of Federal Law No. 173-FZ dated December 10th, 2003 “On currency regulations and currency control” in the version that existed up to January 1st, 2018, as well as Clause 11, Article 7 of Federal Law No. 115-FZ dated August 7th, 2001 “On opposing the legalization (laundering) of funds received by criminal behavior, and financial terrorism” .

[4] See Clause 1, Article 432 of the Russian Federation Civil Code.

[5] See Sections 1, 4, 4.1, 5, and 5.1 in Article 15.25 in the Russian Federation Code of Administrative Offenses in the version of the Law No. 325-FZ.

VEGAS LEX_Валютный контроль_новые правила взаимодействия с банками_11.2017

Download file
File added 29.11.2017
Presentation .pdf (749 Кб)
Expert advice

Apply to participate

Agreement

Аналитика Аналитические обзоры

29
ноября

Валютный контроль: новые правила взаимодействия с банками

Виктор Петров, Руководитель Арбитражной практики

Илья Шенгелия, Менеджер проектов Южной дирекции

Валютный контроль.JPGВ ноябре 2017 года были опубликованы два нормативных акта, существенно корректирующие механизм банковского валютного контроля. Первый из них — инструкция Банка России № 181-И, которой необходимо будет руководствоваться с 01.01.2018 для учета и предоставления отчетности по валютным операциям[1] (далее — Инструкция № 181-И). Инструкция призвана смягчить валютный контроль за счет снижения нагрузки на резидентов. Второй акт, напротив, направлен на усиление валютного контроля. Это Федеральный закон № 325-ФЗ, который после вступления в силу с 14.05.2018 позволит банкам реагировать на любые нарушения валютного законодательства, а также дифференцирует административную ответственность в этой сфере[2].

Основные изменения в отчётности

Наиболее заметное нововведение заключается в том, что с 01.01.2018 не придется оформлять паспорт сделки. Вместо этого банки будут ставить контракты на учет. Но по сути это лишь формальное изменение. Валютный контроль не исчезнет, лишь по-новому будут оформляться документы отчетности: фиксировать необходимую для учета информацию будет не резидент, а банк.

Для этого в банк достаточно будет предоставить контракт (или выписку из него) и другую информацию, необходимую для оформления ведомости внутреннего контроля. Экспортный контракт на учет можно будет поставить на основании одних лишь сведений о нем, но позднее представить в банк сам документ всё равно придется.

С 2018 года также не понадобится оформлять и предоставлять в банк справку о валютных операциях. В качестве единой формы учета и отчетности по валютным операциям резидента будет использоваться только справка о подтверждающих документах, которая предусмотрена и действующим регулированием; изменится лишь её форма.                                  

Более значительное и ожидаемое новшество — повышение порога обязательства в валюте, после которого необходимо ставить контракт на учет. Порог увеличится только для экспортных сделок и составит 6 млн рублей, что на текущий момент в эквиваленте примерно вдвое превышает порог, по достижении которого необходимо оформлять паспорт сделки (эквивалент 50 тыс. долл. США).

По импортным контрактам и кредитным договорам порог останется примерно таким же — 3 млн рублей, что по текущему курсу эквивалентно почти 50 тыс. долл. США.

Изменения коснутся также сделок, валютный контроль по которым будет проводиться в упрощенном порядке — без необходимости предоставлять в банк документы, связанные с проведением операции. Согласно Инструкции № 181-И к таким сделкам будут относиться заключенные между резидентами и нерезидентами договоры, сумма обязательств по которым не превышает 200 тыс. руб., что по текущему курсу в три раза больше, чем действующий в настоящее время порог в 1 тыс. долларов США. По таким сделкам при зачислении иностранной валюты на транзитный валютный счет резидента или списании иностранной валюты с расчетного счета в банк достаточно будет предоставить только сведения о коде вида операции.

Положительные моменты

Инструкция № 181-И уменьшит количество оснований для привлечения резидента к административной ответственности. Так как с 01.01.2018 процедуру учета начнут оформлять банки, резиденту нужно будет только своевременно предоставить все необходимые документы. Негативные последствия, связанные с ошибками, которые допускались при оформлении паспортов сделок, уже не наступят.

Повышение порогов обязательств по сделкам, которые будут контролироваться в упрощенном порядке, позволит сэкономить время и деньги по гораздо большему количеству операций, чем сейчас.

Кроме того, можно будет быстрее пройти формальные процедуры, связанные с постановкой на учет сделок. По действующим правилам банк принимает на обслуживание и оформляет паспорт сделки в течение трех дней. Согласно Инструкции № 181-И банк обязан будет постановить сделку на учет не позднее следующего рабочего дня после того, как резидент предоставил необходимые для этого документы.

Всё это должно повысить оперативность внешнеэкономической деятельности резидентов.

Последствия нарушений

Инструкция № 181-И не предусматривает оснований, по которым банк может отказать в постановке контракта на учет. Если резидент предоставил все необходимые для этого документы, банк обязан зарегистрировать сделку и оформить ведомость внутреннего контроля.

Это не значит, что банки утратят способность противодействовать незаконным валютным операциям. Сейчас, если резидент предоставил достоверные документы, банк может отказать в проведении валютной операции, только если у него возникнут подозрения, что операция совершается в целях легализации преступных доходов или финансирования терроризма[3].

Но уже с 14.05.2018 Закон № 325-ФЗ предоставит банкам полномочия блокировать валютную операцию, если она нарушает положения любого из актов валютного регулирования. Также банк откажет в валютной операции, если ему предоставят документы, несоответствующие требованиям законодательства.

В качестве одного из таких требований Закон № 325-ФЗ устанавливает, что договоры, заключенные в ходе внешнеторговой деятельности между резидентом и нерезидентом, с 14.05.2018 обязательно должны предусматривать сроки исполнения сторонами обязательств. Несоблюдение этого требования будет свидетельствовать о том, что внешнеторговая сделка окажется незаключенной[4].

Помимо этого, Закон № 325-ФЗ внесет в Кодекс Российской Федерации об административных правонарушениях изменения, которые позволят привлекать к административной ответственности должностных лиц за незаконные валютные операции и нарушение порядка репатриации денежных средств. Размер административного штрафа для них составит от 20 тыс. до 30 тыс. рублей. Повторное нарушение валютных требований будет грозить должностному лицу дисквалификацией[5].

Переходный период

Паспорта сделок, которые клиенты не успеют закрыть до 01.01.2018, автоматически закроются без отметки банка об их закрытии, а соответствующие контракты будут поставлены на учет согласно Инструкции № 181-И.

То же самое произойдет с контрактом, по которому банк по состоянию на 01.01.2018 не успеет принять решение об оформлении паспорта сделки: такой контракт поставят на учет по новым правилам на основании уже полученных документов и резиденту не понадобится обращаться в банк повторно.

Непроверенные на 01.01.2018 справки о подтверждающих документах и приложенные к ним материалы не будут возвращаться, если их окажется достаточно для принятия банком в соответствии с новыми правилами.

Таким образом, с 01.01.2018 Инструкция № 181-И будет применяться ко всем сделкам и валютным операциям.


[1] Инструкция Банка России от 16.08.2017 № 181-И "О порядке представления резидентами и нерезидентами уполномоченным банкам подтверждающих документов и информации при осуществлении валютных операций, о единых формах учета и отчетности по валютным операциям, порядке и сроках их представления" // "Вестник Банка России", № 96-97, 16.11.2017.

[2] Федеральный закон от 14.11.2017 № 325-ФЗ "О внесении изменений в статьи 19 и 23 Федерального закона "О валютном регулировании и валютном контроле" и Кодекс Российской Федерации об административных правонарушениях" (далее — Закон № 325-ФЗ).

[3] См. абзац четвертый ч. 5 ст. 23 Федерального закона от 10.12.2003 № 173-ФЗ "О валютном регулировании и валютном контроле" в редакции, действующей до 01.01.2018, а также п. 11 ст. 7 Федерального закона от 07.08.2001 № 115-ФЗ "О противодействии легализации (отмыванию) доходов, полученных преступным путем, и финансированию терроризма".

[4] См. п. 1 ст. 432 Гражданского кодекса Российской Федерации.

[5] См. ч. 1, 4, 4.1, 5 и 5.1 ст. 15.25 Кодекса Российской Федерации об административных правонарушениях в редакции Закона № 325-ФЗ.

VEGAS LEX_Валютный контроль_новые правила взаимодействия с банками_11.2017

Скачать файл
Файл добавлен 29.11.2017
Презентация .pdf (749 Кб)
Консультация эксперта

Подать заявку на участие

Соглашение
Введите символы с картинки*