Analytics Publications

26
June

The Supreme Court recalled how to prioritize the claims of creditors correctly

Source Pravo.ru


Stanislav Shibulkin, Associate of Bankruptcy projects

The design bureau owed PJSC Gazprom, its shareholder, dividends for 2003–2014 in the amount of 13.2 million rubles. Therefore, in 2016, the companies entered into an agreement that the debtor will return the company money in payments of 1.6 million rubles. during the years 2016-2017. On March 13, 2017, the Arbitration Court of the Moscow Region instituted bankruptcy proceedings against the design bureau and on October 20 of the same year declared it bankrupt (case No. A41-15768 / 2017).

Gazprom insisted that the disputed debt should be repaid in the current payment mode. After all, the maturity date comes after the date of the court accepting the bankruptcy petition of the design bureau. The court has already satisfied similar requirements of the company (determination of January 11, 2018). The bankruptcy administrator objected that the requirements were not current at all, because the obligation to pay dividends appeared before the bankruptcy case was opened. But they cannot be included in the register, the manager considered, because they stem from the participation of Gazprom in the authorized capital of the debtor.

On May 29, 2019, the Moscow Region Arbitration Court agreed with PJSC and qualified the debt under the agreement as current payments. 

The courts of appeal (ruling on August 7, 2019) and the district (ruling on October 31, 2019) courts decided the same. But the Supreme Court criticized the acts of lower instances and repealed them (No. 305-ES20-16).


The Supreme Court referred to the fact that the debt cannot be current, since the payment of dividends is not allowed upon the introduction of the monitoring procedure (Clause 1, Article 63 of the Bankruptcy Law). The claim of the debtor's participant to the same debtor, which arises from participation in its capital, is not a claim of the bankruptcy creditor, therefore it is repaid after the requirements of the bankruptcy creditors, the authorized body, “late” creditors and restitution claims for invalid transactions. Therefore, the date of conclusion of the agreement does not matter.

The Supreme Court also criticized the argument that the court had previously qualified similar debt as current. The Supreme Court noted that the issue of applying the rule of law is not resolved according to the rules of prejudice and the rules of compulsory judicial acts. The courts are not bound by a previous assessment of the circumstances.


<...> The moment of occurrence of the initial obligation for a specific payment, that is, 2003-2014, is of importance. And it is not so important when and how the parties changed the obligation to pay dividends. Stanislav Shibulkin, a lawyer at VEGAS LEX, agrees with this and adds: “The courts need to take into account the original nature of the debt that arose. In this case, it is a dividend payment debt, that is, corporate claims that cannot compete with the claims of independent creditors. They shall not be included in the register of creditors' claims. ”


You can find the full version of the article here: https://pravo.ru/story/223229/


						
Expert advice

Apply to participate

Agreement

Аналитика Публикации

26
июня

ВС напомнил, как правильно установить очередность требований кредиторов

Источник: Юридический портал "Право.ру"


Станислав Шибулкин, Юрист по проектам в области банкротства

Конструкторское бюро задолжало ПАО «Газпром» – своему акционеру – дивиденды за 2003–2014 годы в размере 13,2 млн руб. Поэтому в 2016 году компании заключили соглашение, что должник вернет обществу деньги платежами по 1,6 млн руб. в течение 2016–2017 годов. 

13 марта 2017 года Арбитражный суд Московской области возбудил производство по делу о банкротстве конструкторского бюро и 20 октября того же года признал его банкротом (дело № А41-15768/2017). 

«Газпром» настаивал на том, что спорная задолженность должна быть погашена в режиме текущих платежей. Ведь срок ее погашения наступает после даты принятия судом заявления о банкротстве конструкторского бюро. Аналогичные требования общества суд ранее уже удовлетворял (определение от 11 января 2018 года). Конкурсный управляющий возражал, что требования вовсе не текущие, потому что обязанность выплатить дивиденды появилась до возбуждения дела о банкротстве. Но и в реестр их включить нельзя, считал управляющий, ведь они вытекают из участия «Газпрома» в уставном капитале должника.

29 мая 2019 года Арбитражный суд Московской области согласился с ПАО и квалифицировал задолженность по соглашению как текущие платежи. Апелляционный (определение от 7 августа 2019 года) и окружной (определение от 31 октября 2019 года) суды решили точно так же. 

А вот Верховный суд раскритиковал акты нижестоящих инстанций и отменил их (№ 305-ЭС20-16). 

ВС сослался на то, что задолженность не может быть текущей, поскольку выплата дивидендов при введении процедуры наблюдения запрещена (п. 1 ст. 63 закона о банкротстве). Требование участника должника к этому же должнику, которое вытекает из участия в его капитале, не является требованием конкурсного кредитора, поэтому оно погашается после требований конкурсных кредиторов, уполномоченного органа, «опоздавших» кредиторов и реституционных требований по недействительным сделкам. Поэтому дата заключения соглашения не имеет значения.

ВС раскритиковал и довод о том, что ранее суд квалифицировал аналогичную задолженность как текущую. Верховный суд отметил, что вопрос о применении норм права не разрешается по правилам преюдиции и по правилам общеобязательности судебных актов. Суды не связаны предшествующей оценкой обстоятельств.

<...> Значение имеет момент возникновения первоначального обязательства по конкретному платежу, то есть 2003–2014 годы. И не так важно, когда и как стороны изменили обязанность по выплате дивидендов. С этим соглашается Станислав Шибулкин, юрист VEGAS LEX,   и добавляет: «Судам нужно учитывать именно первоначальную природу возникшего долга. В данном случае это задолженность по выплате дивидендов, то есть корпоративные требования, которые не могут конкурировать с требованиями независимых кредиторов. Они не подлежат включению в реестр требований кредиторов».

С полной версией статьи Вы можете ознакомиться по ссылке: https://pravo.ru/story/223229/

Консультация эксперта

Подать заявку на участие

Соглашение