Analytics Publications

13
December

Cloud technologies and personal data

Source The magazine "Joint Stock Company"


Today, cloud technologies are no longer considered something new and extraordinary[1]. Having appeared in 2006, cloud computing has penetrated into various IT fields, it being reflected in the changes in the approaches to organizing and conducting business. Owing to their flexibility and mobility, and having no prototypes in the world, cloud services and technologies began to grow in demand on the market. Let’s take, for example, the increase in investment by businesses in cloud infrastructure and services, which, according to expert projections, will reach an unprecedented amount by 2019 - 312 billion dollars – and will continue to grow annually by 15%[2].  

In the most general sense, a cloud service refers to an automated means of providing computing power, including software, remotely via the internet at the client’s request[3]. Cloud services, the best known today being Amazon, Alphabet, Microsoft and IBM SoftLayer, include the following features: the possibility of providing universal access to the internet, self-service, keeping track of the data used, the possibility of combining resources. As A.I. Savelyev[4] aptly notes, at the moment a number of existing organizations use “cloud” technologies in their infrastructure, and users usually get modern digital services from the “cloud”. Mobility, affordability and the possibility of reducing IT-infrastructure costs are definitely strong advantages of cloud technologies.

In the technical, as well as in the legal field, there is still no clear definition of the cloud service and cloud computing concepts. At the same time, the draft law “On amendments to certain legislative acts of the Russian Federation regarding the use of cloud computing”[5] is going to introduce the concept of “cloud computing services”, which is defined as follows “services related to computing power (including providing hardware and a software license) for processing and storing the information of the consumer of cloud services using hardware that interacts through information and telecommunication networks”.

Taking into account the forecast of the Ministry of Communications and Mass Media of the Russian Federation (Minkomsvyaz), according to which the use of cloud services in the corporate sphere in Russia will be widespread by 2018, especially among small and medium-sized[6], and that the global market of cloud computing may reach 240 billion dollars by 2020, questions of a technical and legal nature arise. Often the cloud stores or cloud servers process sensitive information, for example, a trade secret, confidential information, physician-patient privilege and personal data. For quite some time now personal data have been referred to as “the new oil” or “the new currency” in the digital world, as this information is very valuable to companies and businesses as a whole. Lately, personal data has garnered the attention of not only businesses but the regulatory authorities as well. Using cloud services to process sensitive information, including personal data, raises many additional questions. Hence, for example, it is not very clear which regulations should be applied if the provider of a cloud service is registered on the territory of a foreign state and whether or not localization regulations can be applied to him? How does a cloud service provider secure the data? How should access to processed personal data by the staff of a cloud provider be classified under the legislation on personal data, will it be considered as a data transfer or a processing request? Some of the questions mentioned will be examined below.    

Personal data processor

Under the Law on Personal Data, an entity providing “cloud” services is a processor, although, at the moment, the term has not been codified by law. Article 6, part 3, of the Law on Personal Data only specifies an entity that processes personal data at the operator’s request. It should be noted that the State Duma of the Russian Federation has passed in first reading the draft of Federal Law No. 416052-6 “On amendments to the Federal Law on Personal Data” and Article 28.3 of the Code of Administrative Offenses of the Russian Federation” (hereinafter – Draft Law). This Draft Law, in particular, introduces the concept of “processor” and defines it as “an entity that processes personal data at the operator’s request”.   

The difference between an operator and a processor lies in the purpose of data processing. A processor processes personal data with the sole purpose of fulfilling the terms of the contract signed with the operator (and to have the latter satisfy the contractual terms in return). Also, a processor does not interact directly with the subject of personal data and does not receive his/her consent to process data (this has been clearly enshrined in the effective revision of Article 6, part 4, of the Law on Personal Data, as well as in the Draft Law).

To recruit a processor, the operator has to send a processing request, for example, under a “cloud” service contract. The request should contain a list of actions (operations) with personal data to be performed by the processor, the purpose of processing, indicate that the processor’s obligation is to keep information confidential and secure, and specify the requirements to the protection of personal data.    

An important condition for recruiting a processor, including a provider of a “cloud” service, is obtaining consent from the subject of personal data. This requirement is specified in Article 6, part 3, of the Law on Personal Data. The requirements as to form of consent have not been established by the legislation. Article 9, part 1, of the Law on Personal Data only specifies that the subject’s consent may be obtained in any form confirming its receipt. Thus, the operator may receive consent from the subject in electronic form, if the latter can be confirmed.

It is always the operator, and not the processor, that is held liable before the subject of personal data. The processor is held liable before the operator.

Applicability of the localization requirement to cloud services

Pursuant to Article 18, part 5, of the Law on Personal Data, when collecting personal data, including using the information and telecommunication network called the internet, data operators shall ensure the recording, systematization, accumulation, storage, clarification (updating, modification), extraction of personal data of the citizens of the Russian Federation using databases located within the territory of the Russian Federation.

Naturally, this raises the question of whether or not the data localization requirement can be applied to “cloud” service providers on the territory of the Russian Federation.

To answer this question, one should look at the wording of part 5, Article 18, of the Law on Personal Data. It talks about the collection of personal data, including using the internet. The term “collection” has not been defined in the Law on Personal Data. According to the explanation given by the Ministry of Communications and Mass Media of the Russian Federation[7] “collection” is to be understood as follows: a targeted process where the operator obtains personal data either directly from the subject of personal data or through third parties recruited specifically for this purpose. 

If there is no collection, then there is no obligation to localize. Thus, a provider of “cloud” services is not obligated to localize his databases if he is not collecting personal data. Data is usually collected by the operator. He, on the other hand, is obligated to localize his databases. Subsequent transfer to a “cloud” provider may be effected to foreign servers.   

Contract with a provider of “cloud” services

For have one’s relationship with the provider regulated, one must sign a contract with him.  The contract should specify:

(1)   the obligation of the provider to adhere to the principles and rules of processing personal data stipulated by the Law on Personal Data;

(2)   list of actions (operations) with personal data to be performed by the provider;

(3)   the purpose of processing personal data;

(4)   the obligation of the processor to keep information confidential and secure;

(5)   requirements to the protection of personal data in accordance with Article 19 of the Law on Personal Data.

In this article our aim is not to describe in detail the content of the contractual requirements stated above. However, we consider it necessary to provide examples of other provisions which we also recommend introducing to the contract with a provider.

Other than mandatory provisions, we recommend specifying the following in the contract with a provider:

(1)   actions with personal data (transfer to the operator, destruction) undertaken  when a contract is terminated;

(2)   processing of personal data directly by the provider or by recruiting third parties;

(3)   order and time period for notifying the operator about inquiries submitted by the subjects of personal data, the authorities to the processer as to appropriate processing of personal data, as well as regarding security threats; 

(4)   reimbursement of the costs incurred by the operator when the provider violates the terms of processing of personal data.

In addition, we recommend specifying in the contract that the provider is not collecting personal data on account of the localization requirement examined above.

Recommendations to companies when using cloud technologies

Based on the above, a number of recommendations can be given to both, data processors and operators.

Recommendations to data processors:

- Process personal data for the purposes initially discussed and agreed upon with the cloud customer or with the operator under the processing contract. 

- Ensure compliance with all the legislative requirements on personal data within the operator – processor interaction. Specific rights, obligations and guarantees can be specified in the personal data processing contract between the operator and processor, which we recommend signing.

- We recommend developing an action plan for deleting personal data from the cloud immediately upon the personal data subject’s request, which, in its turn, will require, first of all, an organized data storage system.

- If cloud services are provided under a processing contract, specify the possibility of recruiting subcontractors or other third parties for the processing of personal data and/or their storage and discuss these terms with the subject of personal data or the operator who has recruited the processor. In addition, when working with subcontractors, specify the same scope of obligations in the contract as in the personal data processing contract or any other contract with a provider of cloud services.

Recommendations to data operators

- In your contract with the provider of a cloud service list in detail the requirements to the protection of personal data in accordance with Article 19 of the Law on Personal Data and the provider’s (processor’s) liability if the terms of processing of personal data are violated. 

- When collecting personal data for the first time, use servers located in Russia to comply with the localization requirements.

- Obtaining consent from the subject of personal data to recruit a processor under a processing contract.

- In the personal data processing request indicate that the processor’s obligation is to keep information confidential and secure when processing personal data.

These recommendations will enable you to organize the interaction between a data operator and a data processor in the most effective way and take into account the interests of the subject of personal data when processing personal data using cloud services.


[1] https://blogs.oracle.com/russia/10-2017.

[2] Gartner (August 26th, 2015) Forecast Analysis: Public Cloud Services, Worldwide, 2Q15 Update.

[3] According to the explanation provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology USA a cloud service is an information technology concept that enables network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources. For details see: http://collaborate.nist.gov/twiki-cloud-computing/pub/CloudComputing/CloudSecurity/NIST_Security_Ref....

[4] A.I. Savelyev. “The legal nature of “cloud” services: freedom of contract, copyright law and high technologies”//Civil Law Review. 2015. V.5. No. 5//Available at Legal Reference System “ConsultantPlus”.  

[5] http://www.consultant.ru/law/hotdocs/33631.html/.

[6] http://minsvyaz.ru/ru/documents/4084/.

[7] Explanation is available at the link: http://minsvyaz.ru/ru/personaldata/#1438546529980 (page viewed on – October 31st,  2017).

Жердина, Двенадцатова_Акционерное общество_Облачные технологии и персональные данные_12.2017

Download file
File added 13.12.2017
Presentation .pdf (225 Кб)
Expert advice

Apply to participate

Agreement

Аналитика Публикации

13
декабря

Облачные технологии и персональные данные

Источник: Журнал "Акционерное общество"


Облачные технологии на сегодняшний день уже не являются чем-то новым и сверхъестественным[1]. Появившаяся в 2006 году концепция cloud computing (облачные вычисления) основательно проникает в самые разные IT-сферы, что сказывается и на изменении подходов к организации и ведению бизнеса. Облачные сервисы и технологии в силу своей гибкости и мобильности, а также отсутствия аналогов в мире стали очень востребованы на рынке. Взять хотя бы рост инвестиций бизнеса в облачную инфраструктуру и услуги, которые по прогнозам экспертов достигнут небывалых размеров к 2019 году – 312 млрд долларов – и будут ежегодно расти на 15%[2].  

В самом общем смысле под облачным сервисом понимается автоматизированный способ предоставления вычислительных мощностей, в том числе программного обеспечения, в режиме удаленного доступа через сеть Интернет по запросу клиента[3]. Облачные сервисы, самые известные из которых сегодня Amazon, Alphabet, Microsoft и IBM SoftLayer, характеризует возможность предоставления универсального доступа к сети, самообслуживание, учет потребления данных, возможность объединения ресурсов. Как справедливо отмечает А.И. Савельев[4], в настоящее время часть существующих организаций использует "облачные" технологии в своей инфраструктуре, а современные цифровые сервисы обычно предоставляются пользователям из "облака". Мобильность, доступность и возможность сокращения издержек на IT-инфраструктуру являются безусловными преимуществами облачных технологий.

В технической, да и в правовой среде, до сих пор нет четкого определения понятия облачного сервиса (англ. cloud service) и облачных вычислений (англ. cloud computing). При этом законопроектом "О внесении изменений в отдельные законодательные акты Российской Федерации в части использования облачных вычислений"[5] планируется ввести понятие "услуги облачных вычислений", под которыми следует понимать "услуги по предоставлению вычислительных мощностей (включая технические средства и права использования программного обеспечения) в целях обработки и хранения информации потребителя услуг с использованием технических средств, взаимодействующих через информационно-телекоммуникационные сети".

Учитывая прогнозы Министерства связи и массовых коммуникаций Российской Федерации (Минкомсвязь) о том, что до 2018 года применение облачных сервисов в корпоративной среде в России станет массовым, особенно в сфере малого и среднего бизнеса[6], а мировой рынок облачных вычислений к 2020 г. может достигнуть 240 млрд долларов, неизбежно возникают вопросы как технического, так и правового характера. Зачастую в облаке хранится или с помощью облачных серверов обрабатывается информация ограниченного доступа, как, например, коммерческая тайна, служебная, врачебная тайна и персональные данные. Персональные данные уже давно называют "новой нефтью" и "новой валютой" в цифровом мире, так как такая информация имеет высокую значимость для компаний и бизнеса в целом. За последнее время к персональным данным приковано внимание не только бизнеса, но и регулятора. Использование cloud-сервисов для обработки информации с ограниченным доступом, включая персональные данные, вызывает много дополнительных вопросов. Так, например, не совсем ясно, какие нормы подлежат применению, если провайдер облачного сервиса зарегистрирован на территории иностранного государства и подлежат ли применению к нему нормы о локализации? Как обеспечивается безопасность данных провайдером облачного сервиса? Как согласно законодательству о персональных данных должен квалифицироваться доступ персонала облачного провайдера к обрабатываемым персональным данным, будет ли это считаться передачей данных или поручением об обработке? Некоторые из упомянутых вопросов будут рассмотрены ниже.

Обработчик персональных данных

Лицо, предоставляющее "облачные" сервисы, по смыслу Закона о персональных данных является обработчиком, хотя на настоящий момент данный термин законодательно не закреплен. Закон о персональных данных в части 3 статьи 6 лишь указывает на лицо, осуществляющее обработку персональных данных по поручению оператора. Отметим, что Государственной Думой Российской Федерации принят в первом чтении проект Федерального закона № 416052-6 "О внесении изменений в Федеральный закон "О персональных данных" и статью 28.3 Кодекса Российской Федерации об административных правонарушениях" (далее – Законопроект). Данный Законопроект, в частности, вводит понятие "обработчика" и определяет его как "лицо, осуществляющее обработку персональных данных по поручению оператора".

От оператора обработчика отличает цель обработки персональных данных. Обработчик осуществляет обработку персональных данных с единственной целью – исполнить условия договора с оператором (и получить от него встречное удовлетворение). Кроме того, обработчик не взаимодействует напрямую с субъектом персональных данных и не получает его согласия на обработку (это прямо закреплено как в текущей редакции части 4 статьи 6 Закона о персональных данных, так и в Законопроекте).

Чтобы привлечь обработчика оператору необходимо дать поручение об обработке, например в рамках договора о предоставлении "облачного" сервиса. В поручении необходимо указать перечень действий (операций) с персональными данными, которые будет совершать обработчик, цели обработки, прописать обязанность по соблюдению обработчиком конфиденциальности и обеспечению безопасности, а также должны быть указаны требования к защите персональных данных.

Важным условием для привлечения обработчика, в том числе провайдера "облачного" сервиса, является наличие согласия субъекта персональных данных. Данное требование указано в части 3 статьи 6 Закона о персональных данных. Требования к форме согласия законодательно не установлены. Часть 1 статьи 9 Закона о персональных данных лишь указывает на то, что согласие субъекта может быть дано в любой форме, позволяющей подтвердить факт его получения. Таким образом, оператор может и в электронной форме получить согласие субъекта, если он при этом сможет подтвердить этот факт.

Ответственность перед субъектом персональных данных всегда несет оператор, а не обработчик. Обработчик же несет ответственность перед оператором.

Применимость требования локализации к облачным сервисам

Согласно части 5 статьи 18 Закона о персональных данных при сборе персональных данных, в том числе посредством информационно-телекоммуникационной сети "Интернет", оператор обязан обеспечить запись, систематизацию, накопление, хранение, уточнение (обновление, изменение), извлечение персональных данных граждан Российской Федерации с использованием баз данных, находящихся на территории Российской Федерации.

Возникает закономерный вопрос, применимо ли требование о локализации баз данных на территории России к провайдерам "облачных" сервисов.

Для ответа на данный вопрос следует обратить внимание на формулировку части 5 статьи 18 Закона о персональных данных. В ней говорится о сборе персональных данных, в том числе в сети "Интернет". Термин "сбор" не определен в Законе о персональных данных. Согласно разъяснениям Министерства связи и массовых коммуникаций Российской Федерации[7] под сбором следует понимать "целенаправленный процесс получения персональных данных оператором непосредственно от субъекта персональных данных либо через специально привлеченных для этого третьих лиц".

Нет сбора – нет обязанности локализации. Таким образом, провайдер "облачных" сервисов не обязан локализовать свои базы данных, если он не осуществляет сбор персональных данных. Сбор обычно осуществляет оператор. Именно у него возникает обязанность локализовать свои базы данных. Дальнейшая передача "облачному" провайдеру может происходить и на зарубежные серверы.

Договор с провайдером "облачных" сервисов  

Чтобы регламентировать свои отношения с провайдером, необходимо заключить с ним договор. В договоре необходимо указать:

(1)   обязанность провайдера соблюдать принципы и правила обработки персональных данных, предусмотренные Законом о персональных данных;

(2)   перечень действий (операций) с персональными данными, которые будет совершать провайдер;

(3)   цели обработки персональных данных;

(4)   обязанность по соблюдению обработчиком конфиденциальности и обеспечению безопасности;

(5)   требования к защите персональных данных в соответствии со статьей 19 Закона о персональных данных.

В данной статье мы не ставим цель подробно изложить содержание указанных требований к договору. Однако считаем необходимым привести примеры иных положений, которые также рекомендуется предусмотреть в договоре с провайдером.

Помимо обязательных условий, в договоре с провайдером рекомендуется указать следующее:

(1)   порядок действий с персональными данными (передача оператору, уничтожение) при расторжении договора;

(2)   осуществление обработки персональных данных лично провайдером или с привлечением третьих лиц;

(3)   порядок и сроки уведомления оператора о фактах обращения к обработчику субъектов персональных данных, уполномоченных органов с целью проверки надлежащей обработки персональных данных, а также об угрозах безопасности;

(4)   возмещение убытков оператора в случае нарушения провайдером условий обработки персональных данных.

Кроме того, в договоре с провайдером рекомендуется указать, что провайдер не осуществляет сбор персональных данных ввиду требования локализации, рассмотренного выше.

Рекомендации компаниям при использовании облачных технологий

Исходя из вышеизложенного можно дать ряд рекомендаций как обработчикам персональных данных, так и операторам.

Рекомендации обработчикам персональных данных:

- Осуществлять обработку персональных данных только для целей, которые были изначально оговорены и согласованы с пользователем услуг облачных вычислений (cloud customer) или с оператором по соглашению об обработке.

- Убедиться в том, что все требования законодательства о персональных данных выполняются в рамках взаимодействия оператор – обработчик. Конкретные права, обязанности и гарантии могут быть зафиксированы в соглашении об обработке персональных данных, которое рекомендуется к заключению между оператором и обработчиком.

- Рекомендуется выработать четкую схему по эффективному удалению персональных данных из облака по первому требованию субъекта персональных данных, для чего, прежде всего, необходима упорядоченная система хранения данных.

- В случае предоставления облачных услуг в рамках соглашения об обработке в нем важно прописать возможность привлечения для обработки персональных данных и/или их хранения субподрядчиков и иных третьих лиц и согласовать данные условия с субъектом персональных данных или оператором, по поручению которого действует обработчик. Дополнительно при взаимодействии с субподрядчиками следует прописать тот же объем обязательств по договору, что и в соглашении об обработке персональных данных или в любом ином соглашении с провайдером облачных услуг.

Рекомендации операторам персональных данных

- В соглашении с провайдером облачного сервиса детально согласовать требования к защите персональных данных в соответствии со статьей 19 Закона о персональных данных и ответственность провайдера (обработчика) в случае нарушения условий обработки персональных данных.

- В случае первичного сбора персональных данных использовать серверы, находящиеся в России, в целях соблюдения требований о локализации.

- Получение согласия субъекта персональных данных на привлечение обработчика по соглашению об обработке.

- При поручении об обработке персональных данных – прописать обязанность по соблюдению обработчиком конфиденциальности и обеспечению безопасности при обработке персональных данных.

Данные рекомендации позволят максимально эффективно организовать взаимодействие оператора и обработчика персональных данных и учесть интересы субъекта персональных данных при обработке персональных данных с использованием облачных сервисов.


[1] https://blogs.oracle.com/russia/10-2017.

[2] Gartner (2015, August 26) Forecast Analysis: Public Cloud Services, Worldwide, 2Q15 Update.

[3] Согласно разъяснениям Национального института стандартизации и технологий США под облачным сервисом подразумевается информационно-технологическая концепция, с помощью которой обеспечивается сетевой доступ к общему пулу конфигурируемых вычислительных ресурсов. См. подробнее: http://collaborate.nist.gov/twiki-cloud-computing/pub/CloudComputing/CloudSecurity/NIST_Security_Ref....

[4] Савельев А.И. "Правовая природа "облачных" сервисов: свобода договора, авторское право и высокие Технологии"//Вестник гражданского права. 2015. Т. 5. № 5//Доступно СПС "КонсультантПлюс".

[5] http://www.consultant.ru/law/hotdocs/33631.html/.

[6] http://minsvyaz.ru/ru/documents/4084/.

[7] Разъяснения доступны по ссылке: http://minsvyaz.ru/ru/personaldata/#1438546529980 (дата обращения – 31.10.2017).

Жердина, Двенадцатова_Акционерное общество_Облачные технологии и персональные данные_12.2017

Скачать файл
Файл добавлен 13.12.2017
Презентация .pdf (225 Кб)
Консультация эксперта

Подать заявку на участие

Соглашение